Ohio Civil War » Time Periods

Time Periods

Overview of time periods that the encyclopedia has been divided into. The time periods listed below are the default time periods, which can be changed to suit the needs of any project.

Antebellum (Pre-1861)

The Antebellum Period refers to America prior to the Civil War, especially Southern culture.

Civil War (1861)

The war began on April 12, 1861, when Confederate forces fired on Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor.

Civil War (1862)

In 1862, the Confederate armies won many victories in the East, but the Union held its own in the West and South.

Civil War (1863)

The Civil War turned in favor of the Union in 1863 with victories at Gettysburg and Vicksburg.

Civil War (1864)

Ulysses S. Grant took command of the Union army in 1864, leading the effort to subdue Robert E. Lee’s forces.

Civil War (1865)

On April 9, 1865, Lee surrendered at Appomattox Courthouse, Virginia to Grant, effectively ending the Civil War.

Reconstruction (1866-)

From 1866 to the Compromise of 1877, government policies reincorporated the Confederacy back into the Union.