Ohio Civil War » Objects » Entries » General Orders, No. 11, (Department of the South)

General Orders, No. 11, (Department of the South)

May 9, 1862

On May 9, 1862, Major General David Hunter, commanding the Department of the South, issued General Orders, No. 11, freeing all slaves in Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina. President Abraham Lincoln rescinded this order on May 19, 1862.

General Orders, No. 11

Headquarters, Department of the South,
Hilton Head, S.C., May 9, 1862

The three States of Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina, comprising the Military Department of the South, having deliberately declared themselves no longer under the protection of the United States of America, and having taken up arms against the said United States, it becomes a military necessity to declare them under martial law. This was accordingly done on the 25th day of April, 1862. Slavery and martial law in a free country are altogether incompatible. The persons in these three States—Georgia, South Carolina, and Florida—heretofore held as slaves, are therefore declared forever free.

David Hunter
Major-General Commanding

Ed. W. Smith, Assistant Adjutant-General

Related Entries